Edit Role

Screen Description

The Edit Role page can be used to change an existing role or to delete it. Such a role can be assigned to UniTime managers (Timetable Managers page) or instructors (Instructor Roles page). Permissions of a role can be defined on the Permissions page. See Roles page for more details.

The user needs to have Role Edit permission to be able to edit roles. A role can be only deleted if there is no instructor or manager using the role. The four basic roles (anonymous, no role, student, and instructor) cannot be deleted.


A role has a reference and a name. When Instructor toggle is checked, the role can be assigned to an instructor (or any departmental personell) using the Instructor Roles page. When the toggle is unchecked, the role can be only used on the Timetable Managers page. Roles that are not enabled can be assigned to managers (or instructors), but they will not get assigned to the authenticated users.


Click Save to update the modified role. Button Back will get you back to Roles page without making any changes. Click Delete to delete the role.

The buttons Previous and Next can be used to save the current role and get to the Edit Role page for the previous / next role.

Back to Timetabling Documentation. ©2013 UniTime LLC Content available under GNU Free Documentation License 1.3.